The Autopilot function ensures that the app will always try to set up an active VPN connection. When it is not possible to set up an active VPN connection, the kill switch will be activated. The kill switch ensures that all network traffic on the device is stopped and therefore only comes into effect when the VPN connection cannot be established. The kill switch will also be activated when the VPN connection is lost and can no longer be set up.
In addition, Autopilot works with a so-called trusted network list. It is possible to add the network you are currently connected to to this list. When you are connected to a network that is in the trusted networks list, the VPN connection will not be activated.
With the Autopilot on you are assured of a secure connection.